It is not uncommon for Virginia drivers to get license suspensions.
The VA driver’s license can be suspended or revoked easily despite new state laws concerning license reinstatement. Driving with a suspended or revoked license can result in extreme penalties. Just because you weren’t aware of your license suspension doesn’t mean you will not be punished.
With that being said, it is recommended to check your Virginia driver’s license status periodically. This is especially important if you’ve recently received a traffic ticket and attended court for either a criminal or traffic offense. Whatever the case, make sure your license isn’t revoked or suspended before sitting behind the wheel.
It’s quite easy to order a driving record and check the license status in Virginia. Keep reading to find out more.
- 1. How Can License Suspension Affect You?
- 2. Types of Virginia Driving Records
- 3. Requesting Virginia Driving Records
How Can License Suspension Affect You?
Driving with a revoked or suspended driver’s license is considered a serious criminal offense in Virginia. If you’re convicted of this criminal offense, you might be facing the following penalties and fines:
- 12 months sentence (maximum jail sentence)
- $2,500 fine (it’s maximum amount)
- The license resuspension for the same period it was originally suspended.
Even though there is a small chance that you’ll be sent to prison for your first traffic offense, you can eventually end up in jail by committing the same kind of crime/offense multiple times. If your driver’s license is suspended by the DMV or a judge, you need to apply for restricted or limited driving privilege in Virginia. Remember that the penalties are the same when violating restricted driving privileges (RDP).
Types of Virginia Driving Records
There are 4 different kinds of Virginia driving records, including:
- Personal use driving records
- Insurance driving record
- Employment driving records, and
- Habitual offender restoration driving records
Personal use driving records
As its name suggests, this type of driving record is intended for personal use only. It contains a driving history of 11 years.
Insurance driving records
You will need this sort of driving record for insurance purposes. It gives an insight into your five-year driving history in Virginia.
Employment driving records
These records can be obtained by government agencies, authorized agents, and potential employers. They include seven-year driving history.
Habitual offender restoration driving records
You will need to provide this type of driving record when filing a petition in court. It includes your eleven-year driving history.
Requesting Virginia Driving Records
The copies of driving records can be requested in a few different ways. You can write to the DMV, visit the nearest DMV’s customer service center, or do it online from the comfort of your home. Are you interested in applying by mail? If so, you will need to send a written request along with payment for $8 to this address:
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Attention: Vehicle Records Work Center
P. O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
Here are the types of driver records available right now in Virginia:
- 5-Year Driving History ($8 fee) – Issued typically for insurance purposes
- 7-Year Driving History ($8 fee) – Issued for employment purposes
- 11-Year Driving History ($8 fee) – Issued for an unspecified purpose
Please note that there is an additional fee of $5 for certified copies of driving records. Virginia Driving Records Requests can be made online, in person, by mail, by phone, and through public databases.
Virginia driving records can be obtained with just a couple of mouse clicks. Go to the official website of the Virginia DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) and visit this page.
You will see a wide variety of services there. In the section “Driver / ID Services,” you need to make an order by clicking on “Record Request.” There will be a few fields where you need to enter:
- Date of birth
- Driver’s License Number or SSN, and
- Your DMV-assigned PIN
After providing your data, you’ll need to pay $12 for a certified driving record or $7 for an uncertified record. The driving records can be paid with an electronic check or a credit/debit card.
Remember that online requests involve entering a DMV-assigned PIN. If you don’t have a PIN, consider requesting it online.
Please allow up to 14 days for processing and delivery. You will get a copy of your record by mail. It should be noted that driving records can be viewed online without having to make a request.
If you want to check the status of your license and order your driving record personally, you need to visit a Virginia DMV customer service center. The in-person requests for driving records can be paid by check, cash, as well as with debit or credit card. Choose the payment method that works best for you.
You can make a request personally by:
- Filling out and submitting the Information Request
- Visiting a Virginia DMV office
- Paying a fee of $13 for a certified driving record or $8 for an uncertified record
Virginia driving records can also be ordered by mail, which involves:
- Completing and mailing the Information Request form (mailing address is Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles; Attention:
Vehicle (Driver) Records Work Center P. O. Box 27412; Richmond, VA 23269)
- Paying $13 fee for certified records or $8 for uncertified records (it can be paid with a pay order or check)
If you wish to request your Virginia driver record report by phone, you should call (888) 337-4782.
Customer service representatives will help you get your record that will be sent to your mail. Keep in mind that it takes up to 14 days for records to arrive. In addition to debit and credit cards, electronic check payments can also be used for this purpose.