How to Check Utah Driver’s License Status

Just like in other states, it’s illegal to drive on a suspended or revoked driver’s license in Utah. The penalty can be quite serious. You’d risk getting up to 6 months in jail and paying a fine of $750. That’s why you always need to drive with a valid license and check its status regularly.

It should be pointed out that the Utah Driver License Division (DLD) and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) are different governmental agencies. The former grants a license to motorists, while the latter is responsible for vehicle registrations.

In Utah, it’s possible to obtain driving records in person, by mail, and online. The records can only be received by authorized recipients – those authorized under the DPPA.

Types of Utah Driving Records

Non-Certified Driving Records

This type of driving record contains the same things as certified records – suspensions, revocations, traffic citations, drug/alcohol abuse, convictions, and traffic violations – but it doesn’t have the seal. It can be ordered online, in person, and by mail.

Certified Driving Records

Certified records can be received by insurance companies and potential employers in Utah. Here’s what they include:

  • Traffic violations
  • Traffic citations
  • Convictions
  • Revocations and suspensions
  • Alcohol or drug abuse

Checking the Status of Utah Driver’s License

In the state of Utah, the driver’s license status can be checked in 3 different ways:

  • In person
  • By mail, and
  • Online


You can request Utah driving records online through this service. It allows Utah drivers to buy their MVRs with either a debit or credit card. In addition, companies that conduct background checks and pre-employment screening can obtain MVRs when they conduct searches for driver history records. It involves creating a business account at this portal.

Besides the methods mentioned above, driving records can also be requested through public databases.

In Person

Would you like to order a Utah driving record in person? It involves paying a fee besides filling out and submitting a certain form. You can obtain request forms for driving records by going to a driver’s license office in Utah or visiting the DLD official site. Be sure to complete this form when requesting a personal Motor Vehicle Record (MVR).

When it comes to insurance agencies and commercial driver’s license employers, they need to fill out and submit form DLD60b. It must contain the driver’s signature to be approved. Make sure it’s dated and notarized no more than 90 days after being submitted. If a government agency requires your driving record for investigation or court proceeding, then you should complete form DLD60a.

Whether you need a CDL or a regular driving record, the fee for in-person requests is $8 in both cases. If you need a certified MVR, you will have to order it personally at the Salt Lake City administrative office. In addition to filling out form DLD266, you’ll be asked to pay an additional fee of $10.75.

By Mail

You need to complete and send the request form along with a check when ordering a driver record by mail. In Utah, driving records should be mailed to this address:

Department of Public Safety
Driver License Division
P.O. Box 144501
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

For certified driving records, there is a fee of $10.75. The requests for CDL and regular driving records involve paying $8. In any case, you should ensure that your checks are payable to the Department of Public Safety.

What’s Included in Utah Driving Records?

  • Name
  • Date of birth
  • Address
  • Driver’s license status
  • Traffic accidents
  • Demerit points
  • DUI reports
  • Violations
  • Revocations and suspensions

Aside from license owners themselves, Utah driving records can be ordered by:

  • Insurance companies
  • Courts
  • Government agencies
  • Potential employers

Contact Utah Driver License Division

Mailing address:

Driver License Division
PO Box 144501
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501

In-Person Requests:

Calvin Rampton Complex
4501 South 2700 West, First Floor
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129

Phone: (801) 965-4437 and (888) 353-4224 (toll free)

Chat: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. (From Monday to Friday)

Leave a Comment