- 1. Most Common Reasons to Check Your Driving Record
- 2. Possible Reasons for Driver License Suspensions in Maryland
- 3. How to Get a Copy of Your Driving Record
- 4. How to Request a Document or Report for Someone Else
- 5. Fees
- 6. Contact Information of Motor Vehicle Administration
- 7. FAQs: Driver License Suspensions in Maryland
Most Common Reasons to Check Your Driving Record
If you are a Maryland resident who owns a driver’s license, your driving record is maintained by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). A driving record is a document that is intended to encompass driving history.
In addition to your personal and car insurance information, it also includes details about your driver’s license status, DUI records, accidents, and violations (if any). Additionally, it reveals information about your vehicle like odometer readings, as well as VIN and the title number.
Why check your driving record? It allows you to:
- Make sure all the details provided are correct
- Prevent identity theft
- Track traffic violations
You can get two types of Maryland driving records from the MVA, such as:
- Three-year driving record – It may contain everything from issue date and driver’s license status to driver’s license suspensions, revocations, traffic violation convictions, and car accidents.
- PBR (Probation before judgment) driving record – It contains everything that’s included in the three-year driving record aside from probation before judgments like DUI charges.
Possible Reasons for Driver License Suspensions in Maryland
Maryland is one of those states that impose license suspensions and evocations for both non-driving and driving-related reasons. It is not uncommon for Maryland drivers to lose driving licenses because they don’t make payments like:
- Traffic tickets
- Student loans
- Court fines & fees
- Child support
- State taxes
Many drivers also end up accumulating points by committing traffic violations, thereby triggering a license suspension. It should be noted that must-appear offenses incur more points than payable traffic offenses.
Nevertheless, your license can get suspended if you accumulate a lot of payable offenses over time. To avoid this scenario, you need to know point values for common traffic offenses and understand the Maryland point system.
How to Get a Copy of Your Driving Record
You can get a copy of your Maryland driving record in several different ways. In addition to obtaining this copy in person, it’s possible to get it by mail or through public online databases.
Get It Personally
Maryland driving records can be obtained in person. All you need to do is:
- Fill out and submit an MVA Request for Record (form DR-057)
- Go to an MVA office when presenting valid identification
- Pay a $9 fee for a non-certified or $12 for a certified driving record
Alternatively, copies of driving records can be requested online by:
- Visiting the MVA official site
- Providing driver’s license number, routing number, and DOB
- Paying the fee with MasterCard, Visa, Discover Card, American Express, or e-check
An MVA Request for Record can also be downloaded and submitted by mail. Remember that it involves paying a remittance fee. Make sure it is in the form of a money order or check. The former must be payable to the MVA.
If you use checks for this purpose, make sure they contain an imprinted address and name. In addition to your driver’s license number, your phone number should also be included on the check to be approved.
Obtaining Vehicle or Driver Records As a Business
These records can be obtained in a few different ways. You can do it by:
- Downloading and submitting the Request for Motor Vehicle Administration Records (form DR-057). Bear in mind that there is a fee that should be paid by mail. The mailing address is the Motor Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062, Attn. Room 202 (for vehicle records) or Room 145 (for driving records).
- Subscribing to MVA online service(s). If you want to access vehicle or driver records this way, click here and choose an appropriate application or information packet that works for your business.
- Filling out and submitting a form DR-057 (MVA Request for Record) at a nearby MVA branch office. You will be required to provide valid identification besides stating the reason for your record request and paying the required fee.
Authorized businesses can apply for multiple driving records, too. Aside from filling out and submitting a Certified/Non-Certified Multi Request (form DL-015), this procedure also involves paying the required fee by mail.
How to Request a Document or Report for Someone Else
It involves submitting one of the forms and documents listed below:
- Power of attorney – The customer or requestor must be mentioned specifically in this form
- Letter of authorization – It must be signed by the vehicle’s owner or driver so that it’s clearly stated that the customer/requestor has permission to receive the document
- Credit or employment application provided by the customer
- Court order or subpoena
- A business card issued by a DPPA authorized person – Make sure the customer’s and entity’s names appear on the card. As a customer or requestor, you’ll have to prove your identity when requesting the document/report.
- The Driver Privacy Protection Act – It must be signed by an authorized representative of the company or agency.
- Payment check that contains the name of a DPPA authorized entity.
Here is a quick brief about fees:
- $12 fee for certified driving record
- or $9 for non-certified record
For every non-certified document or report, there’s a required fee. Keep in mind that certified reports or documents come with a bit higher fee. Government and law enforcement entities don’t charge a fee.
However, you’ll be charged either the certified or non-certified fee amount (it will depend on your request) in case of documents/reports that can’t be found. You can avoid charges by visiting an MVA office. In that case, the MVA employees will tell you that the missing document or report can’t be found.
Money orders and traveler’s checks aren’t accepted. Please note that each fee is non-refundable.
Contact Information of Motor Vehicle Administration
For blank request forms
An MVA Request for Record (Form DR-057) should be submitted by FAX through Demand system 410-424-3050 Catalogue 20
For phone questions
MVA Customer Service Center, 1-410-768-7000
TTY/Hearing Impaired: 1-800-492-4575
Mailing address for vehicle reports or documents
MVA Title File Unit – Data Management, 6601 Ritchie Highway, NE, Glen Burnie, MD 21062
Mailing address for driver reports or documents
MVA Driver Records Unit, Room 145, 6601 Ritchie Highway, NE, Glen Burnie, MD 21062
FAQs: Driver License Suspensions in Maryland
What do Points on My Driving Record Mean?
How many points you have on your DMV driving record depends on offenses you make while driving. It includes traffic offenses that happen both in and out of Maryland. There is a unique point system used by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration that is aimed at calculating the severity of offenses. For every infraction, you get a particular number of points.
The Motor Vehicle Administration outlines all the points. Your driving license can get revoked or suspended based on how many points you made for a certain period. The offense points and infractions are outlined in the way as follows:
- 3-4 points: A MVA’s warning
- 5-7 points: Enrollment in a Driver Improvement Program
- 8-11 points: License suspension
- 12 or more points: License revocation
What Will Happen When Accumulating Too Many Points?
Many drivers tend to commit traffic violations and thus incur points over time. As a driver, you need to avoid accumulating too many points on your driver’s license. That will put you at risk of reaching the number of points that will trigger a suspension or revocation of your license. It is of great importance to understand the Maryland point system to avoid this outcome.
How to Know Whether My Driver’s License is Suspended or Revoked?
There are 3 steps to check this.
- First things first, you need to request a report of your driving record (it can be done online) to check whether your license is suspended or valid.
- Next, you should go to the Maryland MVA personally.
- Lastly, reach out to an MVA manager to get a clear idea of the cause of suspension. License revocation usually occurs after accumulating 12 or more points within two years.
Is It Possible to Pay Traffic Ticket Online in Maryland?
Traffic citations can now be paid online on the Maryland MVA website. However, you are advised to get advice from a Driving While Suspended attorney first. Talk about your traffic violation to find the best way to fight your traffic ticket.
How to Remove Points From DMV Records in Maryland?
Luckily, there’s a way to remove points from Maryland DMV records. You can request an expungement of incorrect information (if any at all) on your driver’s history report. That will keep your driving privileges protected. Additionally, you can reduce your insurance rates by removing false information and get a chance for a new commercial driving opportunity in Maryland.
The DMV will accept your request for expungement if you have shown good driving habits for 3 consecutive years. You will have to avoid revocation or suspension of your license throughout a 3-year time span. Any points on your driver’s license will not be recorded as current anymore after 2 years.