Individuals living in the state of Connecticut are governed by the Graduated Driver Licensing program. For a short period of time, young drivers must hold a temporary driver’s license to qualify for an unrestricted license.
Before applying for a driver’s license, residents of Connecticut must go through the instructional program and accumulate enough driving experience.
The process of applying for a driver’s license in Connecticut is fairly simple and easy to follow. We are here to guide you through the process and help you get your driver’s license without any problems.
Follow these three steps for obtaining your Connecticut drivers’ license:
- Submit your application for Learner’s Permit.
- Once you’ve had the permit for a specified amount of time, you must prove your driving skills with an instructor.
- Once you’ve proven your competency, you can expect to receive the license in the mail.
Connecticut Driver’s License Requirements
Connecticut DMV’s Driver Training Requirements page clearly shows that each instructional course includes 30 hours of theoretical practice, and accumulating 40 hours of practical experience. If you pick the Home Training choice, you will earn the right to submit a driver’s license application once the 180 days have passed. You can reduce that period to 120 days by taking commercial driving courses in high school.
Individuals residing in this state must be at least 16 years old to apply for a driver’s license. To apply for the license, you must meet these prerequisites:
- Learning permit
- Registering your own car under your own name. Insurance documents and proof of registration are also essential.
- Proof of car insurance
- Proof of completing driver’s ed CS-1 course. You can get one from your driving instructor.
- The receipt of paying the $72 license fee.
Your certificate must be signed by the state-approved driving trainer. To achieve this, you must complete all the driving education prerequisites. This role can be filled by any responsible person, such as a parent. The only requirement is that the person approving your credentials must have observed your driving.
Before obtaining your initial license, you must go through the road test. You can get detailed information about the process by reading the Connecticut Driver’s Manual. Once you feel confident in your ability to pass the test, you can arrange to take the test at the closest DMV office. In some cases, you can take the test at the institution where you practiced driving. To take the exam at the driving school, you must collect these documents:
- Your learner’s permit
- A filled-out Application for Non-Commercial Learner Permit and/or Driver License (form R-229), signed by a trainer who was accredited by the state
- Filled-out CS-1 Driver Ed Certificate
If you take the road test and get a passing grade, you bring a filled-out Road Test Evaluation Form to the DMV office. Before you do, make sure to wait at least 48 hours.
How Connecticut Graduated Driver’s License Works
If you’ve made it this far, you have qualified for your driver’s license. Besides the legal age requirement, remember to meet these requirements:
During the starting 6 months after qualifying for a license:
- You are allowed to drive while being accompanied by a state-approved teacher, parents, or someone appointed as your guardian, as long as all of these people hold the driver’s license themselves and did not have any problems with the law for the past 4 years.
- Once half a year has passed, you will be permitted while having brothers and sisters on board.
Before reaching the age of 18, you are prohibited from driving during late hours. To be specific, you are not allowed to drive between 23:00 to 05:00. You may be exempted from this rule for special occasions, such as medical or religious needs.
After reaching the age of 18, you will be free to drive without restrictions.